“CONGRATULATIONS” to Alain & Louis Cabardos of PMSC for their spectacular performance at MLRC’s Polar Bear Rally last weekend (February 18/19).

They ran the grueling overnight rally, which included more than 30 checkpoints, collecting a mere 1.3 minutes in penalties for top spot in Expert class. They ran Leg B with ZERO penalties for its 10 checkpoints.

PMSC’s Chris Johnson and navigator Brandon Pace of KWRC finished 5th in Expert with 8 penalty minutes.

Another member of PMSC and “Team Cabardos”, Emile and his navvie, John Reid, finished 3rd in Novice class with 10.1 penalties.

The Polar Bear result puts Alain and Louis at the top of the ORRC Expert Standings with 25 points in a tie with Jane and Bruce Leonard of MLRC.

Chris Johnson sits in 3rd overall while his navigator Brandon Pace is in 4th.

Emile Cabardos is sitting in 5th spot in Novice.

The next ORRC event is PMSC’s Spring Run Off Rally on April 29th.


The Peterborough Motor Sports Club celebrated its 2016 winners Wednesday night (January 25th) at Marty Moo’s Restaurant.
A total of 19 trophies and plaques were presented to nine club members.
From left to right, front row; Glen Austin (Watchwinder Weekend champion), Dan Demers (Overall Club Champion, Fall Ball Weekend champion, Ice Race Street Stud champion, Ice Race overall champion, Rally Driver Champion), Len Arminio (Organizer Award), Back Row from left; Dave Chambers (Accepting on behalf of his daughter Amy who was Ice Race Champion Runner-Up), Rich Courneya (New Member Award, Solo Driver Champion and Solo Rookie Driver), Louis Cabardos (Rally Navigator and President’s Prize Rally Navigator Champion), Alain Cabardos (President’s Prize Rally Driver Champion). Also; Chris Johnson (Solo Driver Runner-up).
Absent: Travis Grub, (Club Champion Runner-up), Richard Poxon (Ice Race Rubber to Ice Champion and Ice Race Rookie Driver), Peter Watt (Organizer Runner-up).

PMSC Teams Successful at January Jaunt

(From January Jaunt Website)

PMSC members in Boldface

January 7, 2017– With −10° C temperatures, bright sunny weather during the day and a dusting of snow after dusk, the Toronto Autosport Club’s 58th anniversary January Jaunt navigational car rally kicked off 2017 to a good start. This first event of this year’s Ontario Road Rally Championship (ORRC) was an endurance style winter navex, with challenging instructions to keep navigators on their toes, and a selection of roads to entertain drivers. The first car left the tradtional start location at the Royal Coachman restaurant in Waterdown at 12:01 PM. The final car checked in at 8:19 PM; preliminary results were posted at 8:31 PM, and awards were handed out at 9:15 PM.

With a change in regional rules that eliminated the small Intermediate class, there was a record seven Expert teams competing. The instructions were challenging, with navigators reporting constant entertainment, and drivers enjoying some of the roads. A couple of teams added their own tricks to enhance the navigational “pleasure” of the event. Congratulations go out to first place Alain and Louis Cabardos (2016 ORRC series champions), and second place Chris Johnson and Brandon Pace (running Expert for the first time).

Nine Novices entered in 2017, including many beginner (first-time rallyist) crews. A Beginner’s Quick Start guide was distributed and co-organizer Nick Parry held a quick training session to help with navigation. All first-time crews held up to the challenge (with some reporting that the navigation “was a lot of fun”), and all made it to the finish without missing a single checkpoint, although the intricacies of rally timing was (intentionally) not the focus of first-timers. New rallyists should note that RallySport Ontario club membership is required to score in the series, and Novices can join one of the RSO clubs to score points retroactively from the Jaunt. (The clubs are BEMC, KWRC, MCO, MLRC, PMSC, SPDA, St. LAC or, of course, TAC.)

The top three Novices earned awards in the event. Returning Novices Andrew and Teresa Marek secured first place by a good margin. The Michigan-based team of Torry Skurski and Chris Holland placed second, and Kris Baily and Jacob Kirshner placed third.

As a challenging navigational event, we resurrected the “Press-On-Regardless” award to honour the team that perseveres at the rally, overcoming a significant challenge to finish the event. The team selected for this had trouble in the first leg, missing four checkpoints. They seemed very calm and collected at the break, and came back in the second leg with the lowest leg B score of anyone in the rally, although unfortunately still placing last overall. The 2017 POR recipients were Emile Cabardos, as “Most Persistent Driver”, and Jon Reid, the “Most Persistent Navigator”.

Thanks to all entrants, and workers. TAC checkpoint crews: Sandy Grant, Rachel Grant, and Dietmar Seelenmayer; Steve Martin; Brian Maxwell; Rob and Sue McAuley; Fred Walker and Jane Worobess (who also did a great job at registration); and Steve Van Rees (KWRC). The KWRC greencrew of Roger Sanderson and Dennis Wharton put in a lot of effort to review and suggest refinements to the instructions and speeds, which helped make the event manageable. And special thanks to co-organizer Nick Parry, and to Rita Moore and Dietmar for helping with administrative preparations for the event.

The next ORRC is coming up quickly: the KWRC Frostbite rally on February 21, organized by RSO VP Navigational Darin Mayes.

See you on the road!

Kurt Seelenmayer,

PMSC Member Claims Rally Titles

How about this! This PMSC member slipped through to a great finish in the Tall Pines…
Philippe Benoit of Mirabel, Quebec is a PMSC member. Phillipe and his co-driver, Maxime Fortin-Gagnon piloted their Mini-Cooper to 8th overall and 4th in 2w Open. But better than that, Phillipe claims 2WD ECRC/CREC Eastern Canada Rally Championship AND the 2WD OPRC Driver Championship!! Outstanding! Congratulations, M Benoit. Tout le meilleur pour l’avenir.

Great participation by PMSC at Tall Pines

Nice turnout of PMSC members for the 2016 Tall Pines as workers:

Len Arminio VE3LRM
Matt Ballinger
Alain Cabardos VA3IAC
Louis Cabardos VE3LVC
Kevin DeVries VA3KDV
Joanne Fleguel
Pete Gulliver VA3PTG
Jeannie MacGillivray VE3JNE
Christine Newell
Mike van Rees VA3VRM
Peter Watt VE3WRX

And Rick Williams

ALSO:  PMSC team, Lindsay and Glen Webster completed five stages before heading off-road.  Tough one, guys, but we know you will be back at it again soon!